Dicy2: composing and interacting with generative agents

  • Ircam (1 Place Igor Stravinsky, 75004 , Paris)
  • Monday 5 December 2022 17h16 - 19h16 (local time)

Dicy2: composing and interacting with generative agents 
by Jérôme Nika, Augustin Muller, and Manuel Poletti

Video on the Ircam YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/Co_9xZTFPEs

This video (in french) announces the upcoming release of Dicy2, a collection of agents and tools for the interactive generation of sequences that can be integrated into musical situations ranging from the production of structured material within a compositional process to the design of autonomous agents for improvised interaction.

The library integrates scientific and musical research results accumulated through productions and experiments with Rémi Fox, Steve Lehman, the Orchestre National de Jazz, Alexandros Markeas, Pascal Dusapin, Le Fresnoy - Studio National des Arts Contemporains, Vir Andres Hera, Gaëtan Robillard, Benoît Delbecq, Jozef Dumoulin, Ashley Slater, Hervé Sellin, Rodolphe Burger, Marta Gentilucci... After having evolved research prototypes crystallizing the contributions of these various projects for several years, a collaborative work carried out during the year 2022 has led to the finalization of a release of Dicy2 for Max, and an associated plugin for Ableton Live.

Dicy2 is a library of the Ircam Musical Representations team, designed and developed by Jérôme Nika, Augustin Muller (Max library), and Joakim Borg (Python generative engine / Gig RepMus API) in the framework of the ANR-DYCI2, ANR-MERCI, ERC-REACH projects directed by Gérard Assayag, and the Ircam "UPI CompAI" project. The audio use cases have been designed and developed with Diemo Schwarz and Riccardo Borghesi, and use the MuBu and CatArt environments of the ISMM team of Ircam. Patches and tutorial videos by Matthew Ostrowski. Max4Live plugin by Manuel Poletti. Contributions / thanks : Serge Lemouton, Jean Bresson, Thibaut Carpentier, Georges Bloch, Mikhaïl Malt, Axel Chemla--Romeu-Santos, Vincent Cusson, Tommy Davis, Dionysios Papanicolaou, Greg Beller, Markus Noisternig.